top of page
  • Writer's picturecharnicole01

On the road to my Self Care Queendom



Hey Sisters! This blog issue is a dive deep into my journey for self care. Self care is sometimes still a struggle for me. I love writing and enjoy expanding the website, networking, but I know that benefits Call Your Sister more than myself. I love building this sisterhood, but I deserve ME time just like everyone else. Let's rewind to 2018.... I was working FT, taking care of my mom, not making the best choices for food. I ate at my desk while working more times than I care to admit. I was stressed, but didn't know what to do to make it better. If you are new to reading the blog, I urge you to watch April's Hashimoto Series. It gives more insight into this. Everyone else....lets continue. I worked in a high rise building and starting riding the elevator to the ground floor and walking up seven flights on my breaks. Then I started doing this on my lunches and breaks, and packing a salad. I still daydream about chili fries or tacos when I eat salad. I know it's healthy for me, but who says no to tacos? I have never been the "gym-girl". I didn't understand how those people existed. I needed something for me and I felt like it would make me a better person. I think of self care like this...if your car needs oil do you ignore it? If your pet needs food do you feed it? If your child had a toothache do you shrug your shoulders? I am hoping the answer is you would take care of it. YOU are important. Read that again YOU....gorgeous specimen reading this are important. Tape that on your mirror. Save it in your phone. It's a truth you should be repeating if not already. I joined a gym and it was my haven.



I walked and sighed relief like I was walking into a spa. I stretched, changed clothes and inserted my earbuds. My Zen time. When I went to the gym, I felt amazing afterwards and could carry on. When I skipped a day or even a week I felt like rough sandpaper. I entered my haven and two hours later I was a different, better person. After two years of haven like visits I morphed into a different creature. I love smoothies. I eat salads around three times a week, and carbs are not the first thing I grab. I have tried to lose weight before and my weight has never stayed off. Throughout this journey I found that being healthy, losing weight is more about mental dedication that anything else. Staying dedicated to making healthy choices and staying active, you have to be in all the way. It's really easy to choose a burger over a salad when the burger is cheaper. Packing a salad removes the temptation, but you have to be willing to choose that salad. I have had stomach issues since I was a child and on the days that I have no appetite I blend a smoothie with protein powder to help. You'd be surprised how filling fruits, vegetables, and Acai powder is. I will post a video to give you some tips. I know what your thinking...Char what did you do when everything closed down? I worked out at home. I miss my gym, don't think working out at home replaces that. I dance around my room while folding laundry (cardio), I schedule burpee's on my 15 minute break, I do lunges and planks after my morning coffee. The mental aspect; if it's important you will do it. The first time in my life I am comfortable in my body, I can stare at my hourglass figure in the mirror and smile. I appreciate all the hard work and am so thankful that I found something that worked for me. Working out is my self care, writing is my ME time. What's yours? Don't know yet? I will be posting a video on smoothies and self care. My self care video may help you answer those questions. Think of what you love. Not your friends, or your spouse...YOU. Remember, be love...speak love and you can always call your sister.


Me enjoying the sunshine (below).




9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page