top of page
  • Writer's picturecharnicole01

YES. WE. RULE. THE. WORLD.

I wanted to write about the Olympics about a month ago. There are usually a dozen topics running through my mind and writing bimonthly I have to narrow it down. This topic kept buzzing around which let me know I needed to get it on paper. My original idea was to talk about the wage difference in the US Women's Soccer Team.




There are many facets of disparities for us in the Olympics such as pay, treatment, and choice of coaches. This might cause someone to question….well if women are treated unfairly in the Olympics why don't you speak up? You as in a collective of all women, we have. Here's a fun fact! In the 2012 London Olympic Games, women made up more than 44% of participants.



The U.S. women earned 58 medals in all, including 29 Gold — more than the U.S. men. We have less representation at the Olympics and we still come out on top? That is what I call ruling the world. 🌍 We have come a long…..way. The first time a woman took part in the Olympics was 1900. Only 22 women competed!


At the 2012 Summer Olympics, every participating nation included female athletes for the first time in Olympic history. 2012! That was 9 years ago. We can do better! On July 2, 2021, a news story broke about US Sprinter Sha'carri Richardson failed a drug test following her Olympic qualifying 100-meter race victory at the U.S. Olympic Track and Field Trials. The consequence of this being a 30-day suspension.



I am not condoning drug use nor that breaking rule is okay. Reading about this talented, phenomenal woman who has overcome incredible feats I am in awe. She lost her mother quite recently and from personal experience the shock of losing a parent is gutwrenching. I seriously think we should be considering how much pressure and emotion she was going through. Mental health is real and grieving your mother while being a rising athlete could not have been an easy balance. I tip my crown to you sister!

I know this suspension breaks so many hearts above all Sha'carri's. I remember years ago when Michael Phelps was blowing everyone out of the water (literally) with swimming. In his personal life, he admitted quite braggadocious about getting high. I don't remember it being this sensationalized. Sha'carri tweeted "I am human". How honest and real is that? Hey, I messed up. Like you. Like me. Like everyone. I believe in a world where we can admit that proudly, where our treatment is fair, our wages are equal, whereas women we can stand strong together and show everyone...YES. WE. RULE. THE. WORLD.


Remember you can always call your sister!


Sources:


https://people.com/sports/tokyo-olympics-shacarri-richardson-marijuana-suspended/



15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page